top of page


When we ratified the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Land Claim Agreement in 1998, we also signed a separate Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Self-Government Agreement. This document formally recognizes our right to govern ourselves and play a leading role in managing activities within our traditional territory.


Today the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in look to many people for leadership. Every three years we elect a Chief and four Councillors. They meet regularly to review matters affecting our citizens and make decisions on our behalf. They also handle negotiations with other levels of government. We honour our Elders and value their guidance. All citizens 55 and older belong to the Elders Council. We take great pride in our youth, the leaders of the future. Our Youth Council is open to all citizens from 15 to 25 years of age. We celebrate their successes in our modern world while giving them a good grounding in their history and culture. The Elders Council and the Youth Council each select a member to be ex-officio representatives on Chief and Council.


Employees working for the First Nation provide their skills in a variety of areas — administration, education, health, heritage, housing and natural resources — to assist Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in citizens and provide expert advice to Chief and Council.


(Link: For information regarding the current members of Chief and Council, as well as contact information for various department employees, see here.)

 Five Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in chiefs celebrating 15 years of self-government at the 2013 General Assembly. L-R: Darren Taylor, Peggy Kormendy, Percy Henry, Angie Joseph-Rear and Ed Taylor. Also if room, GA Sept 2013 - TH Oil & Gas Act.jpg caption: Chief and Council and Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in citizens commemorating the passing of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Oil and Gas Act in September 2013.

bottom of page